Voice Over – An Interview With Voice Talent Sandy Mooney

Voice Over – An Interview With Voice Talent Sandy Mooney

This week’s featured Voice Talent is Sandy Mooney!

 
 

How long have you been a Voice Actor?

 
 

I have been a Voice Actor for 15 years.

 
 

How did you get into the business?

 
 

While working in musical theater, the real show was in the dressing room. I would always do my version of whatever production I was in, imitating all the voices around me. (cast and crew!) It felt so natural, spontaneous and fun. My cast mates encouraged me to pursue it further so I eventually started taking classes and learning the business.

 
 

What are some of your favorite projects?

 
 

I love when a commercial client who usually relies on me for a traditional read, asks for a character. Some of my favorites are A SPY for Sansoneauto.com secret sale, A WHICH for

 
 

Cadillac Jack’s Saloon Halloween Event, and LINUS for Uncle Dave’s Pumpkin Ice Cream.

 

 
 

Do you have a Voice Coach and why?

 
 

As much fun as this work is, it can be very solitary. I typically direct myself and I’m sure I don’t know it all. A fresh perspective can breath new life into how we approach our copy. While I don’t have one particular voice coach, I am all for on going training. Whether it’s private coaching or a group setting, there is always more to learn.

 
 

What kind of equipment do you have in your studio?

 

 
 

I use Pro Tools on a Mac Book Pro with an Audio-Technica mic.

 
 

How do you feel about sound quality?

 
 

In this highly competitive field, it’s not enough just to give a great performance. The sound quality of the files we send out is crucial. In a lot of cases, the person hearing my audition doesn’t know me. If I send a great performance with poor quality sound, chances are I will get passed over. Fortunately with the advances in technology, there are many products out there that can help us continue to streamline and perfect our home studio sound quality.

 
 

What else should we know about Sandy?

 
 

I am a California native who loves dogs and R&B.

 
 

Check out Sandy’s voice over demos and check out her voice over profile here.

Leave a comment